Day 49–Remainders

Oops!  Just realized I skipped days 47 and 48.  I’m gonna use Fall Break (or the anticipation of) as my excuse.  I even checked my phone for pics thinking better late than never–nothing.  Bad teacher!

6th graders had been dividing before break, so I had them warm up by playing a game today where they had to divide and use the remainder to determine their movement around the game board.  No problem……except according to the instructions, you’re supposed to have your opponent check your work with a calculator.

My brain read that as Multiply the quotient and divisor, then add the remainder.  They read Punch the division problem into the calculator.

photoMy “warm-up” lasted the whole period….

Leave a Reply

