Day 30–Right Triangles

day 30 trianglesRight triangles today….legs….hypotenuse….students easily defined and identified them in my examples.  I can’t quite remember what prompted me to mention a right triangle where both legs were the same length.  It wasn’t my intention to specifically discuss isosceles right triangles.  We didn’t, however, get to the correct vocabulary/name for such a triangle once I was surprised by two student comments, prompting the pictured questions and an investigation for homework tonight.  If I draw a right triangle so that the legs are the same length……

Leave a Reply

