Day 28–What’s My Name?

day 28 namesday 28 # line

It’s a little bit of a stretch, but we used the idea of nicknames today to make more sense out of equivalent fractions.  What do my students call me?  My kids?  My husband?  That one was their favorite–deciding my husband might call me Honey or Sweetie sent them into fits of giggles.  6th Graders!!  🙂

We talked about why I have or need so many different names–and that no matter what name, I am still me, my identity remains the same.  After further discussion, we finally got around to placing equivalent fractions on our number line.  For homework, I selected a few and asked students to decide if they were actually equivalent or not–and give evidence to support their answers.  Should be interesting checking their notebooks tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

