Day 123: Since I played “hooky”…

to do some grocery shopping and have an awesome tweetup with Breeden Murray (@btwnthenumbers) today I wanted to share what a student did in class yesterday that I thought was AMAZING!  I have never seen a such great use of arrows before.  Most of my students use the visual (area model) method to multiply/factor polynomials however when students choose to use the formula (distributive) method I DEMAND they use arrows.  I tell them that arrows are kind of like a seatbelt “you might not get into an accident but you will be thankful when you do because it will save your life”.  When this student shared her homework with THESE ARROWS….**flabergasted**  I love to learn new things of from my students and have them share strategies that might help other students be successful.

 

Leave a Reply

